A wing for everything!!!

Hi I am an acro beginner.
I do only spirals and Sats. I like to thermal also because I need to gain altitude before doing some acro moves.
I am looking for a wing that could do thermal (also the small one) and enough strong and fast to do more advanced acro move.
Now I flight a Buzz3.
I am 181 cm and my weight is 95 kg ready to flight.

Thank you

Latest Comments

gforce's picture

If you have possiblity, try the new U-Turn Redout 21 is, verry good glider. Freestayler aswell and good for thermal.

jmcolombo's picture

I know this is an old post but... I can only speak from the AIRG Sophie2 23 I have, a Dudek Freeways 22 I tried today and an FS3 I groundhandled...

AIRG Sophie2 23: love it! But it's not a freestyle wing as they market it, even though the site says that's an intro acro wing. It's exactly that, an intro acro wing, but an acro wing indeed. I noticed a huge difference today when I flew my mates Freeway 22. The Freeway's lines are shorter, less AR and just a bit more of a boxy style build (similar to the FS3), and opening of the cells are bigger. It felt more stable and overall a more benign wing. Brake pressure is less than the Sophie2. But if you bury a brake or start some WOs, the Sophie2 will show you why its an acro wing. It builds up energy pretty damn quick, due to the long lines. Sophie2 has a better glide than the Freeway though, but I can't speak for the FS3...

What did you end up getting in the end and how did you find it???

paal's picture

The F-grav is more or less a real acro glider, not so much a Freestyle glider.
Perfect for a beginner at comps. But not a beginner in acro.
The 22 size can work if you are not a heavy pilot.

smailandreas's picture

I did have the chance to test fly the new Icaro Aquila in Bassanos/Italy spring thermals, and I would like to confirm that Icaro's marketing text on their pdf (http://justacro.com/files/gear/glider/files/icaro_flyer_aquila_en_web_15...)