Paraglider for Freestyle

Hello,

I have been flying for 7 years with a en-B, Hook 5. I have started doing some acro tricks (SAT, Heli, Mistys, Wing-overs, Asymmetrical Spiral...) and now I'd like to go to a more acro glider, i.e. Freestyle.

I'd like to know which gliders are on the market, and the level of expertise required to fly them. I weight 80kg (only me - no equip.), what area the wing should have as to not be too dynamic?

Thanks,

Marcelo Boson.

Latest Comments

WoodysGamertag's picture

I fly the Xenus. I'm a beginner acro pilot who is pretty good with the dynamic stuff (wingovers, SATs, tumbles, etc.) and pretty new at most of the negative stuff (helis, spin overs, misty flips, etc.)

I probably have about 100 hours on my xenus, 300 stalls, etc.

I like it, mostly. It's great at wingovers, SATs, tumbles, etc. I do find that compared to my octane, it shoots a lot. You have to check that surge.

If you go for a spinover and instead do a poorly timed wingover by not pulling enough brake, it's a big event.

Also, I had to modify the brake pulleys to get it to do a SAT -> Spin -> Heli. It just takes so much travel that if you take enough wraps to get past SAT, you can't give back enough brake to inflate the heli.

Again, I'm not a pro. Maybe other people can chime in on what's normal. I just find the octane 2 to be more mild. When the guys around here say that a mild wing is good for learning, I'm starting to see why.

jabaker's picture

I'm in a similar boat. Would like to hear more from people who have experience doing maneuvers on the Xenus, Xstyle, and E-gravity. I'm currently leaning towards E-Gravity from everything I've heard, but I haven't heard a whole lot from pilots with direct experience with these wings.

hannes3787's picture

i fly rhe xstyle now 6montz and befor i tryed the octan 2 . i like the gradient so much more , its not so agressive but have super dynamik as well

Paraglidingpixie's picture