scalpel VS sledgehammer

Hi everyone

I recently sold my Air'G Sophie 2 (23) and bought a brand new Gradient Freestyle 3 (22) and fly at around 105kg total weight. I did a few test flights with a friends FS3 and fell in love with the lively, precise feedback. I also had a test flight on a FS2 a year ago and it felt likewise but less dynamic than the Sophie. Doing wingovers felt like carving the air with a scalpel.
I did around 200 stalls and deep stalls on the sophie but did not have the courage to try helico with only 500m training height over ground. I'm not experienced with spins. The sophie was easy to handle as it reacted quite predictably. It was easy to catch any shoot and the canopy was under good pressure in an instant after negative manoeuvres. Flying the sophie was always confidence inspiring and I never experienced a really bad moment. Having a full frontal on the top dead point of a very high wing over was no drama at all. I once had the chance to try an Emilie Peace 20: It was faster and more dynamic but also similarly easy to handle.

Handling the Freestyle 2 was like handling a scalpel: precise and effective. Handling the Sophie 2 was like handling a sledgehammer: heavy duty but intuitive

A few weeks ago, I did the first flights on my own FS3 at lake garda. Helico was my goal for the week so I continued with full stalls and deep stalls to get to know the glider. In the last years, I also tried deep stalls on my other gliders: The Gradient Nevada felt not as precise as the sophie and it did shoot quite severe; I guess also due to the longer brake travel. The Gradient Avax XC2 was a bliss to stall and to keep in deep stall. It is calm but reacts very precise to your inputs. And the shoot is easy to handle thanks to the shorter brakes.